Contact Us

Fiona Rosa

03 9466 1810


13 - 21 Diplomat Drive
Thomastown, Vic, 3074

Online Enquiry

* Required fields

School Council

School Councils play a key role in Victorian government schools. A School Council develops a vision for the school in collaboration with all members of the school community and is actively involved in the development of and endorses the school’s strategic plan.

School Council is the governing body of the school and draws on the school community for its members - parents, DET staff and the broader community. School Council determines appropriate policies within Department of Education and Training (DET) guidelines that will ensure that the aims of the school are achieved. In addition, Council controls the school’s monies and resources.

School Council operates under a framework provided by the:

  • Education and Training Reform Act 2006
  • Education and Training Regulations 2007
  • The School’s Constituting Order

Each School Council is established by an Order of the Minister for Education.

Key functions

The School Council has particular functions in setting and monitoring the school’s direction.

School Councils have three main responsibilities:

  • finance: overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation
  • strategic planning: participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • policy development and review: developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

School Councils must meet eight times a year and at least once per school term. Meetings are usually held on a Thursday at 5:30 pm. The president chairs all meetings and all members of the council are expected to attend.

The School Council at Thomastown Meadows Primary School always acts in the best interest of the school. The members of the committee are passionate and dedicated.

These members of Thomastown Meadows Primary School Council are:

Samir Afif           President
Magdalena Kekez     Vice President

Angela Vasiliou                           

Ben Hutchings   Secretary - DET nominee Business Manager
Fiona Rosa   Principal - Executive Officer
Marnie LeineDET nominee Business Manager
Alanna Hawthorne-Smith  DET nominee Assistant Principal
Anna Kikas Parent Representative
Zahra KhatounParent Representative
Mai El SalloumParent Representative
Vacant PositionParent Representative